Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

PS3Blog.net | September 22, 2021

Scroll to top

Top

19 Comments

PSN is changing to the SEN this Tuesday


Sony confirmed in a press release, as well as in emails to PSN users, that this Tuesday, February 7th, the PSN name will be no more. The PSN will be changing into the SEN (Sony Entertainment Network). The email assures us that this is “a change in name only.” Your username and password will remain the same, and anything you purchased for your PSN account will now belong to your SEN account.

The email notes a software update will coincide with the name change, however, “this change will not be applied to the PSP (PlayStation Portable) system at this time,” probably because the new features will not be available on the PSP. Privacy Policy and Terms of Service will also be updated with this change, and, of coures, “you will be asked to agree to ‘them’ if you wish to continue using your Sony Entertainment Network account.”

So what do you think? Sad day for us long time PSN fans, or a step in the right direction for Home Entertainment?

If you haven’t read it yet, you can read the entire email after the jump.

On February 7, 2012, Sony Network Entertainment International LLC (“SNEI”) will update its Terms of Service and User Agreement and its Privacy Policy. As a part of this update, your “PlayStation®Network account” will be renamed a “Sony Entertainment Network account”

The first time you sign in to your Sony Entertainment Network account on or after February 7, 2012, you will be asked to agree to the new Terms of Service and User Agreement and Privacy Policy with SNEI if you wish to continue using your Sony Entertainment Network account. Please review all changes to the Terms of Service and User Agreement and Privacy Policy carefully before indicating your agreement.

In particular, these are some of the additions and changes we have to these agreements:

New terms for parents of minor, subaccount holders regarding the limitations of chat parental controls. Your reacceptance of the Terms of Service and User Agreement and Privacy Policy affirms your consent to the sharing of your child’s data that may occur if your child utilizes certain communication functionalities on PlayStation devices such as PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Vita systems.
New terms that explain the location-based services offered through the PlayStation Vita system. For parents of minor, subaccount holders your reacceptance of the Terms of Service and User Agreement and Privacy Policy affirms your consent to your subaccount holder’s user of these services on the PlayStation Vita system.
A description of our “What’s New” section, which provides topical information about our services and advertisements.
Information about pre-ordering content.
The name of your “PlayStation Network account” is changing to a “Sony Entertainment Network account.”
You may click here to review the changes to the Terms of Service and User Agreement and you may click here to review the changes to the Privacy Policy.

The rebranding of PlayStation Network accounts to Sony Entertainment Network accounts is a change in name only. Your username or password will not change, nor are we asking you to change them. On Sony Computer Entertainment’s PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Vita systems, this rebranding will occur in connection with software updates for these devices. (Note, this change will not be applied to the PSP® (PlayStation®Portable) system at this time.)

This transition is based on Sony’s goal to enhance its unique digital entertainment offering. As a series of these activities Sony started last September, PlayStation Network will be aligned with “Sony Entertainment Network.” This helps us get closer to our goal of establishing a global comprehensive network platform of services across games, movies, music and more, all accessible from one convenient account.

The Sony Entertainment Network account also enables use of Sony’s compelling non-game services such as Music Unlimited, Video Unlimited and PlayMemories Online (currently called Personal Space) across a variety of network-connected devices. If you do not agree with the new Terms of Service and User Agreement or Privacy Policy, you may decline to accept them, and you will no longer be able to access your account.

If you wish to close your account or request a refund of your wallet balance, or have any questions, please contact Customer Service by clicking here. For more information, please click here.

Thank you very much for being a customer!

PS3Blog.net