Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image | May 21, 2024

Scroll to top


No Comments

[PS Vita Review] Lego Ninjago: Shadow of Ronin

LEGO Ninjago Ronin Header Image - D

Lego Ninjago: Shadow of Ronin is the 10th game in the LEGO series and the second Ninjago game by Travellers Tales. This release is also only available on the PlayStation Vita and the Nintendo 3DS, skipping home consoles.

The latest Lego game is a pure single-player experience, and there is no drop-in option for a second player. This is perfect for those who only partake on single player games at their own pace. As for this particular release, some changes have been made to the rules when compared to the previous game. Permadeath has been removed, so when you fall off a ledge you spawn at the same spot rather than from the starting point. The ten timed challenge system has been removed and replaced with a five yellow brick challenge system without a time limit, overall making gameplay a little easier.

Players will be able to control Kai, Zane, Cole, Jay and Lloyd, in their quest to defeat Ronin and his shadowy army. Ronin stole the powers and memories of the five main characters in the game, which is why they must all regain and re-learn their powers before Ronin get’s the chance to use the Obsidian Weapon to change the Ninjago forever.

LEGO Ninjago Shadow of Ronin_2

This game mark’s the first in the entire series where you do not need to purchase everything for the platinum. Most of the characters can be obtained either via the Story or Free Play mode. You only need to purchase three or four of the required characters. The game has ten chapters and each level is broken down into three sub-levels. Every level has 2-3 characters to find, and you WILL need to find all of them for the platinum. Some levels have a red brick and there are a total of ten red bricks in th game.

LEGO Ninjago Shadow of Ronin_3

On top of all of this, every level and sub-levels has five challenges for you to complete, each rewarding you with a yellow brick – for a total of 155 yellow bricks to collect throughout the game. There are no timed challenges, and all are very easy to do, but some may take more than one try. The game is very linear, so there is no chance of getting lost or stuck. The puzzles in the game are quite simple but they are fun to do.

LEGO Ninjago Shadow of Ronin_4

After you complete a level, you will automatically be taken to the Ninjago Island map, where you can fly around on a dragon (cool I know)! There are 25 collectibles for you to collect while you fly around the map at your leisure, so don’t forget to explore the whole area! The game includes a full trophy count: twenty bronze, nine silver, five gold and one platinum. Even better is that none are missable! Overall, it is a very easy platinum.

LEGO Ninjago Shadow of Ronin_5

I have enjoyed the latest edition to the Lego family, if you have kids, the game will keep them busy for a day or so. I would definitely recommend giving the game a go. You do not need to play other games to enjoy this little gem.

[review pros=”Very fun action game.
Easy platinum trophy. No more timed challenges.” cons=”Short game.” score=75]